Please activate JavaScript in your browser to use all interface options.

« March, 2024
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
Main page News room News

Rosneft and Eurosport Events Sign WTCC Partnership Agreement

14 April 2015

Rosneft and Eurosport Events, promoter of the FIA World Touring Car Championship, signed a partnership agreement.

Within the framework of the agreement Rosneft will increase its involvement in WTCC by becoming the Event Presenting Partner of the WTCC races in Russia and China, two of the flagship events of 2015.

Rosneft WTCC Race of Russia will take place at Moscow Raceway from 5-7 June with Shanghai International Circuit hosting Rosneft WTCC Race of China from 25-27 September.

In addition to title sponsorship of the two races, Rosneft will benefit from a number of branding and media opportunities with both events televised live on terrestrial and satellite channels around the world, covered extensively in print, online and social media, and attracting thousands of spectators to the respective venues.

Rosneft is an active supporter of both professional and amateur sport. Constantly striving to reach new frontiers, determination and a will to win are fundamental elements of the sporting culture that lies at the heart of the company’s business philosophy. The agreement with Eurosport Events, promoter of the WTCC, opens new horizons and possibilities with one of the most popular motorsport categories in the world, a byword for speed and off-the-limits car performance. High-quality Rosneft lubricants are designed for giving optimal engine productivity even in these extreme conditions. The company’s participation in motorsport provides the opportunity to obtain data, which will help to make Rosneft products become more sophisticated and offer even more advance lubricants to our customers.

Note for editors:

Rosneft is the title sponsor of the LADA Sport WTCC factory team in this season’s. The 12-round, 24-race World Touring Car Championship is contested by motorsport megastars including nine-time world rally champion Sébastien Loeb, ex-Formula One racers Tiago Monteiro and Gabriele Tarquini, WTCC title-winners Rob Huff and Yvan Muller, Dakar hero Tom Coronel, experienced campaigners Rickard Rydell and James Thompson, plus reigning champion José María López. Meanwhile, Mehdi Bennani and Ma Qing Hua are also frontrunners in the series and became the first drivers from Africa and China respectively to win in the WTCC in 2014 when 649.70 million viewers watched the WTCC on 148 channels across 188 countries. World Touring Cars require the use of mass-production five-door cars fitted with 1.6-litre direct injection turbocharged engines and a number of aerodynamic aids.

Rosneft Information Division
Tel.: + 7 (499) 517-88-97
April 14, 2015